Sweetwater Enshrined into the Hall

Former Harlem Globetrotter Nat “Sweetwater” Clifton was among the legendary individuals enshrined into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame on August 8.

Clifton, who passed away on August 31, 1990, was elected by the Early African-American Pioneers Committee, the same committee that elected former Globetrotter great Goose Tatum to the Hall in 2011.

In 1950, the New York Knicks purchased Clifton's contract from the Globetrotters, making him the first African-American to ever sign an NBA contract. Clifton would play eight seasons in the NBA, appearing in nearly 600 contests and one All-Star game.

Clifton was joined in the 2014 Hall of Fame class by, among others, seven-time NBA All-Star Alonzo Mourning, international superstar Sarunas Marciulionis and former NBA Commissioner David Stern.